lEADERSHIP TEAM

 

PRESIDENT

Chapter President - Sonya Stallings-Ward sstallings@atlbmba.org
Welcome to the National Black MBA Association, Atlanta Chapter. As President, it is my pleasure to serve you, I pledge to continue the work that has led us to such a strong legacy. We celebrate over 35 years of dedication and commitment to the creation of economic and intellectual wealth in the African-American community, I stand firm in my commitment in promoting excellence in our People, Programs, and Profitability.
Read More

EXECUTIVE BOARD

 

Jonathan Jordan

Vice President of Finance

jjordan@atlbmba.org 

Create and maintain an annual operating budget, Develop and report to Board the Monthly financial statements, Provide leadership support for Director of Corporate Affairs and Director of Special
Events.

 

Chandra Gaines

 VP Administration

cgaines@atlbmba.org

 

Provide leadership support for Director of Career Network, Director of Programs, and Director of Economic Development.

James Gray

 VP Communications

jgray@atlbmba.org

 

Provide leadership support for Director of Technology and Director of Marketing/PR.

 

Travis Townsend

 VP Operations

ttownsend@atlbmba.org

Provides leadership support for Director of LOT, Director of Community Affairs, and Director of Student Affairs.

Natassha Chambliss

VP Records

nchambliss@atlbmba.org

Provide leadership support for Director of Membership, Director of Legal Affairs, and Director of Government Relations.

Roderick Barton

Immediate Past  President

rbarton@atlbmba.org 

 

Previous Chapter President serves as the direct advisor to the current President..

Charmaine Ward

Advisor

cward@atlbmba.org 

Previous Chapter President serves as the direct advisor to the current President.

Eric Harrison

VP of Strategy

eharrison@atlbmba.org 

Previous Chapter President serves as the VP of Strategy to the current President.

    DIRECTORS

Ronald F. Johnson

Career Network

rjohnson@atlbmba.org 

The Career Development Network Committee has supported numerous programs such as Job Fairs and Career Symposiums to assist our membership in obtaining employment and enhancing their skill set.

Michelle Marshall

Special Events

mmarshall@atlbmba.org


 

 

The primary focus of this special committee is to develop, plan, and implement events that provide an informal social outlet for members. The major activities that this committee plans are the quarterly networking events, and the annual Holiday event .

Linda Jordan

 Community Affairs

ljordan@atlbmba.org 

The Community Affairs strategic focus is to partner and collaborate with various organizations such as Communities in School, United Way, Hands on Atlanta and many others, to meet the needs within the community.

Read More…

Justin Tanner

Government Affairs

jtanner@atlbmba.org 

 

The Government Relations Committee informs the Chapter of the key political issues affecting the membership; Conducts voter registration drives; Participates in government related activities, such as African-American Business Enterprise Day at the State Capitol and Congressional Black Caucus Weekend, to learn more about the issues and beliefs of political officials; and Sponsor issues forums to increase political awareness as necessary. .

Otis Threatt

Corporate Affairs

othreatt@atlbmba.org 

The Corporate Affairs committee is responsible for recruiting and retaining the chapter’s protected list of Corporate Partners; Maintain an updated database of key contact people for current and potential Corporate Partners; Maintain strong relationships with members of the corporate community to ensure corporate awareness of the Chapter’s activitiesy.

Jennifer Christian

Membership

jchristian@atlbmba.org

Membership is charged with developing and implementing strategies to grow the local member base by retaining current members, attracting new members, and reclaiming inactive members. Additionally, this committee conducts quarterly New Member Orientations, maintains the chapter roster, manages the sign-in process at monthly chapter events, and determines member demographics. .

Read More…

Tamara McLaurin

Programs 

tmclaurin@atlbmba.org 

Each month, the Atlanta chapter presents meetings aimed at engaging our membership on various levels. Always maintaining the theme of professional development, as well as peer and career networking, the meetings are focused around various topics and bring recognized industry and corporate leaders to the forefront. Through these forums, members are provided with greater business knowledge of key social, economic, and political issues affecting Atlanta and the Country. .

Read More…

Anise Mastin,

Marketing & PR 

amastin@atlbmba.org

The Marketing/Public Relations Committee is tasked with contacting newspapers, magazines, and other relevant periodicals to advertise monthly meetings and other Chapter activities; Writing and submitting press releases for major Chapter events; Creating and updating marketing brochures, picture collages, and poster to be used for recruiting members and Corporate Partners; Establishing relationships with key media personnel to obtain media coverage at selected Chapter events; Assisting Vice President, Communications with Chapter newsletter as needed; and seeking opportunities to gain positive visibility for the Chapter.

Regina Mixon-Bates

Economic Development

regina@atlbmba.org

The Economic Development initiative aligns its programs with that of our national organization’s mission in the “Creation of Intellectual and Economic Wealth within the African-American Community.” We support the development of small business initiatives for our members and the community at-large by assisting entrepreneurs in starting, stabilizing, and expanding their respective business entities through small business development, job creation, retraining and relevant resources.

 

 

Darrell Brown

Technology

dbrown@atlbmba.org 

The Information Technology Committee holds the responsibilities of maintaining the website and posting up-to-date information about chapter events; Evaluate new uses for the website and enhancements needed to capitalize on these new opportunities; Routinely benchmark site against sites of other chapters/associations; Work with Membership to maintain e-mail address database; and Coordinate with Public Relations to send announcements via e-mail as appropriate.

Tyeisha Miller

Leaders of Tomorrow

tmiller@atlbmba.org

 

In 1997, the Atlanta Chapter was the first to implement what would later be a national initiative termed Leaders of TomorrowSM (LOT). LOT is a mentoring program whose goal is to assist the C-average, at risk, economically disadvantaged high school student develop the life skills and career choices necessary to become productive citizens within the community. The Director of LOT bears responsibility for enrolling students and managing the success of the LOT Program, facilitating the five key components: Saturday Leadership Training Sessions; National Leadership Conference; the SAT Academy; mentors; and Community Impact Projects.

 

 

Horace Mackey

Student Affairs

hmackey@atlbmba.org

 

The Student Affairs Committee acts as the liaison between the Chapter, undergraduate business and MBA students, and the administration/faculty/staff of graduate business schools in Metro Atlanta. The Student Affairs Committee is charged with recruiting and retaining student members, sponsoring activities that address the needs of the student members and coordinating the scholarship selection process and awards reception.

Aisha Hardimon

Public Relations

ahardimon@atlbmba.org

 

 

 

Richard Sylvia

Mentorship

rsylvia@atlbmba.org 

 

 

Melanie McCant

Director of Legal Affairs

melanie.cook-mccant@atlbmba.org

The Director of Legal Affairs is charged with overseeing the legal affairs of the National Black MBA Association, Atlanta Chapter; ensuring that all contacts are legally-binding; maintain current knowledge of federal, state and nonprofit regulations that may impact the Atlanta Chapter, provide interpretation of various statutes, regulations, and other state/federal policies, and ensure National Black MBA Association, Atlanta Chapter compliance with these rules. Ensure policies and procedures for various chapter functions are created and implemented.